Macavity Awards 2008

Wednesday Oct 29 2008
by Whodunit

The Macavity Award is named for the "mystery cat" of T.S. Eliot (Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats). Each year the members of Mystery Readers International nominate and vote for their favorite mysteries in four categories.
The year listed is the year of the award, for books published in the previous year.

Best Mystery Novel
Laura Lippman: What the Dead Know (Morrow)

Best First Mystery
Tana French: In the Woods (Hodder & Stoughton*/Viking)

Best Mystery Short Story
Rhys Bowen: "Please Watch Your Step" (The Strand Magazine, Spring 2007)

Best Mystery Non-Fiction
Roger Sobin, editor/compiler: The Essential Mystery Lists: For Readers, Collectors, and Librarians (Poisoned Pen Press)

Sue Feder Memorial Historical Mystery
Ariana Franklin: Mistress of the Art of Death (Putnam)

Back to News-Bulletin

The Missing Clue

Sign up for our email newsletter version of our famous “The Missing Clue”. Customers can also receive the original “The Missing Clue” print newsletter.
More about The Missing Clue.